Skip navigation
The Australian National University

The Edith and Joy London Foundation

The Deed of Gift (pdf 101KB) defines the broad parameters for management of the Edith and Joy London Foundation in perpetuity and suitability for teaching and research in the field sciences. ANU agreed to: "preserve the land in its entirety, in its present and natural state as far as possible, consistent with the purposes for which it was given".

The establishment of the Foundation in 1975 also marked the establishment of the Edith and Joy London Foundation (EJLF) Management Committee, nominated to be responsible to ANU Council through a Chairperson, with volunteer membership including academic and administrative representation. At the field station Joy London herself initially managed accommodation issues. The Committee eventually appointed a resident caretaker/farmer, with assistance provided when required by a casual assistant and casual cleaner, this role persisted until the field station review undertaken in 2000. During this time bookings, facilities management and land management were undertaken with the voluntary positions of Secretary, Steward, Curator and Bailiff filled within the Committe.

Eventually a re-commitment from the university to support the property in 2000 led to the Committee of Management being changed to the present Kioloa Advisory Board (KAB), with bookings, facilities management and land management now all being undertaken by Campus Manager and part-time Campus Administrator, with assistance provided when required by a casual farm assistant and casual cleaner.

A re-assessment of the governance model was undertaken in late 2010 with a new governance structure approved by the then Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ian Chubb for implementation in 2011. Through including representatives from every ANU College on the Kioloa Advisory Board, the new governance structure for the Kioloa Coastal Campus will invite input from all parts of the ANU. The new Kioloa Advisory Board will be Chaired by the Vice-Chancellor (or delegate) and include the Deans of all the ANU Colleges (or their delegates), as well as the Directors of Facilities and Services and of Endowment for Excellence at the ANU, the Manager of the Kioloa Coastal Campus, a member of the local Bawley Point / Kioloa community, as well as an ANU student representative. KAB members are appointed with the approval of Council of The ANU.

Updated:  30 October 2013/Responsible Officer:  Director, Facilities & Services/Page Contact:  Systems & Information Technology